Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > Cruising and Sailing with Children
 Not a Member? 

Cruising and Sailing with Children All things sailing and kids related, from safety to life aboard.

Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-27-2011

Jim M is on a distinguished road
THIS is a great topic! IS it feasable for 4 kids?

I am new to sailing but I have been in and around boats my whole life.

Being the oldest in the family (first with younger kids in teh family) I have never really seen many people with smaller kids on boats. (fishing boats yes but not sail)

I am looking to get into sailing, (as I have always wanted to) I have been looking at the 31-41 ft range. (only because I have 4 kids)

I'd like to spend summer vacations out on the boat. 3-4 days, maybe a week trip.

I have a 14, 12, 6, 4 yr old.

Is this feasable? Has anyone had success with younger kids on longer sail trips?

Do you have any wisdom to share?lol

I am a nervious parent as it is and very saftey cautious, so sometimes I think I am asking for trouble putting them on a boat. But I really want to share that experiance with my kids if possible.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 10-27-2011

Minnewaska will become famous soon enough Minnewaska will become famous soon enough
Sure it can be done. The 4 and 6 year old definitely need a properly fitted pfd they will wear all the time. Probably the 12 year old too, and everyone else is a good idea.

If you are new to sailing, your biggest worry is going to be man overboard recovery. If you practice good safety, there is no reason that anyone should fall in, particularly from a boat that size. However, should they fall in, you want to be very practiced at getting back for them. It requires practice.

Go enjoy. Great gift to the kids.