Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance > Engines > Diesel
 Not a Member? 

Diesel This is a forum dedicated to diesel engines and their applicable accessories.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-30-2013

johnrolka is on a distinguished road
Universal M18 - runs in neutral dies in gear.

I'm new to diesels, spent 3 years developing a knowledge of atomic 4's then sandy sank my boat. This is a new boat for me bought it over the winter, Catalina 30 with a universal M18. Did a sea trial in December ran fine, when the boat was launched we brought her about 3 miles to where I keep her, after finishing my rigging projects and replacing lines, and getting the sails up when I went to take her for her inaugural sail she started oK but sticky throttle. When I put the boat in gear in idle the revs go way down and she dies. There is no throttle response when she is in gear. A friend suggested the fuel system, I replaced all fuel filteres, pumped out the tank and put in new fuel but same deal, runs fine in neutral but put it in gear, no throttle response and no apparent forward movement, thinking to attacking the transmission and maybe diving to see if the prop is clear. Any thoughts I'd appreciate it.

John Rolka
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
The Following User Says Thank You to johnrolka For This Useful Post:
mm2187 (06-30-2013)
Old 06-30-2013

aa3jy is on a distinguished road
Re: Universal M18 - runs in neutral dies in gear.

When was the last time the boat was hauled and checked/surveyed/cleaned it's bottom? Suspect fowling of prop and thru hauls.
Old 06-30-2013

Minnewaska will become famous soon enough Minnewaska will become famous soon enough

If you pull the throttle or press the override, so that it does not engage the transmission, will it increase RPMs without dying?