Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance > Engines > Diesel
 Not a Member? 

Diesel This is a forum dedicated to diesel engines and their applicable accessories.

Like Tree5Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-09-2013

dszerlag is on a distinguished road
Blowers for a diesel

I have a 86 Pearson 39 that i have been slowly rehabbing. I am trying to clear away some of the clutter and straighten out lazarettes etc. I have noticed that the boat has blowers located in the aft lazarette and near the engine compartment. The boat has the original Westerbeke 46. When it comes to diesels I am a novice but I thought blowers were only needed for gas engines? Is this necessary? Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 10-09-2013

desert rat is on a distinguished road
Re: Blowers for a diesel

A blower gives you more horsepower for the weight. However heavier engines are more dependable, and a blower also reduces the life expectancy of the engine.
Old 10-09-2013

Group9 is on a distinguished road

Quote:
Originally Posted by desert rat View Post
A blower gives you more horsepower for the weight. However heavier engines are more dependable, and a blower also reduces the life expectancy of the engine.
I don't think he means a supercharger or turbocharger. He is talking about a ventilation blower.

Yeah, my diesel has them, too. Even though, I don't think there is much danger of an explosion from diesel fumes.

"Best thing to do is get her out on the ocean. If anything's gonna happen, it's gonna happen out there." Captain Ron Rico
Old 10-09-2013
Owned by Velcro

Ferretchaser is on a distinguished road

You don't need then on a diesel.