Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance > Engines > Diesel
 Not a Member? 

Diesel This is a forum dedicated to diesel engines and their applicable accessories.

Like Tree2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-18-2013

mikekomm is on a distinguished road
Gas vs. Diesel

I'm planning to purchase a 36-40' boat to live on in one of the marina's in Southern Calif.. I'm new to boating and need help with some basic information. I plan to go on couple excursions per month. One of the local islands is about 165 mile round trip and the other is approx. 50 miles. I know that gas engines are far less expensive and will run far less hours between rebuilds than diesels but what is the number of hours you can run the a gas engine with "average " maintenance? Also, what is the "average" for diesels?

Is there a rule of thumb for the average fuel consumption per mile for gas vs. diesels?

Any help would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 10-18-2013

Minnewaska will become famous soon enough Minnewaska will become famous soon enough
Re: Gas vs. Diesel

Well, now you've started it.

Conventional wisdom is that diesels are simply safer. Diesel fuel is not volatile. You virtually can't light it with a flame, while gasoline vapors are quite flammable.

I'm not sure I would get too anxious over fuel economy, but getting 10,000 hours out of a properly maintained diesel is not uncommon. I can't quote gas engine durability, but it's a fraction of that.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Jeanneau 54DS

In the harsh marine environment, something is always in need of repair. Margaritas fix everything.
Old 10-18-2013
Just another Moderator

Faster has a spectacular aura about Faster has a spectacular aura about Faster has a spectacular aura about