Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance > Engines > Diesel
 Not a Member? 

Diesel This is a new forum dedicated to diesel engines and their applicable accessories.

Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By MarkSF
  • 1 Post By aa3jy

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 13 Hours Ago
S/V "MACKINAC"

Maine_bill is on a distinguished road
Diesel oil question

My Universal M-30 diesel calls for 10w-40 diesel oil. Locally I can only find 5w-30 or 15w-40.
Can I substitute for another weight oil??? If so which way do I go. Living and sailing in Maine.
OR
Do I look around to find the right weight
Thanks
Bill
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 13 Hours Ago

MarkSF is on a distinguished road
Re: Diesel oil question

All I can say is, I've been using Shell Rotella T 15w40 for the last 4 years in my Universal 5424, and the previous owner used it for about 10. I buy it from Walmart.

If you really want 10w40, Shell make Rotella T5, a more expensive synthetic blend, in 10w40. I can see the advantage being easier starting on very cold days, and you're in a colder climate than me.

Both are well-respected diesel oils.

Interestingly, I just fixed a noisy tappet in my Land Rover V8, with Rotella T. Took about 500 miles to work its magic.
christian.hess likes this.
Old 13 Hours Ago
new dad!

christian.hess is on a distinguished road

or delo 400....I stick with oils for the life of the engine or for the time I use said engine

switcing oils searching for the holy grail does no good and in some cases can cause excess sludge and or sediment

15-40 is fine in a 10 40 specd engine.

unless you are in freezing morning temps you are in the same temp range that calls for 10 40

good luck

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.