SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

2GM20F doesn't reach full rpms

8K views 18 replies 10 participants last post by  CarbonSink62 
#1 ·
Hi folks, looking for tips where to start, I have no experience with diesels. The motor starts easily, and runs smooth. It will rev to 3600-3700 under no load. Under load it only gets to 2600-2700 rpms. At full throttle it does put out some visible black smoke, barely noticeable, it doesn't seem excessive to me. The fuel in the filter is amber color, looks clean. I have paperwork from max prop recommending the prop size based on a 2.6 to 1 gear ratio. The trans model number is RM2P, can anyone confirm the gear ratio?
One last thing, could anyone post a picture of the governor, and how to lube it?
Any and all help will be appreciated, thanks in advance......

Rich

#4 ·
Thanks for the reply, but a fouled bottom can be eliminated. It was just painted in Apr. and is used regularly. The bottom is clean as a whistle......

Does the fact that it will reach 3600 rpms with no load eliminate a partially blocked exhaust elbow as a cause? I would like to eliminate all other possible causes before pulling the prop........

Thanks

#9 · (Edited)
Thanks for the reply, but a fouled bottom can be eliminated. It was just painted in Apr. and is used regularly. The bottom is clean as a whistle......

Thanks
If you are in salt/brackish water, just because the bottom is clean as a whistle, doesn't mean the running gear is clean. In salt water, it can build up with barnacles very quickly.

Also, has it been this way ever since you have had the boat or is it just more recent?
If recent, I'l look at the running gear being fouled. If since you have had the boat, I'd look at it being over-propped.

#5 · (Edited)