Westerbeke self-bleeding fuel system - SailNet Community
 2Likes
  • 2 Post By boatpoker

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 04-03-2017 Thread Starter
Barquito

Westerbeke self-bleeding fuel system

I am a complete diesel noob. I had a gas engine in my last boat. I read in my Westerbeke W27 owners manual that the engine is self-bleeding. Have you all found that this is sufficient to get air out of the lines (such as after changing filters)? If it is, it kind of begs the question, 'why aren't all diesels self-bleeding'? Is there a down-side to this feature?

Valiant 32
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 Old 04-03-2017
Learning the HARD way...

Re: Westerbeke self-bleeding fuel system

I have only seen self-bleeding systems on Universal and Beta Marine Diesels. These systems work with an electric lift pump, and requires the pump to push sufficient fuel volume to supply the injector pump, and the return lines to the injectors. Other than the requirement of a functioning electric lift pump, I see no downside. I have seen self-bleeding systems that were "always-on" in that there was no operator intervention required, and have seen them where the operator had to open a bleed valve to enable the self-bleeding to take place. I have one with the bleed screw on my Universal M25.

Why don't other manufacturers do this? it may have to do with the pressure required on the inlet side of the high pressure (injector) pump. IMHO this should not be an issue.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

USCG Licensed OUPV Captain, ASA 101/103/104/105/106/118 Instructor - Also certified in Marine Electrical Systems

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 3 Old 04-03-2017
Dirt Free

Re: Westerbeke self-bleeding fuel system