Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance > Engines > Diesel
 Not a Member? 

Diesel This is a new forum dedicated to diesel engines and their applicable accessories.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-25-2009

zAr is on a distinguished road
Slick from raw water exhaust

Can someone give a checklist of things to check when a slick suddenly appears from the raw water exhaust after motoring for less than an hour? This is a Volvo Penta 2002 (2 cylinder, 4 stroke) engine on a 1986 CS30 boat. The boat is recently bought, recently checked by a diesel mechanic and given the ok, I believe he replaced the gear reduction coolant hose, added oil, gave the whole thing an inspection then gave it the thumbs up, and I've only motored it probably 3 hours top.

I'm a newbie, btw.

Thanks in advance for your help.
Old 08-25-2009

imagine2frolic is on a distinguished road
I would ask the man who gave the thumbs up.........i2f

BORROWED, No single one of us is as smart as all of us!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 08-25-2009

jackdale will become famous soon enough
Was the oil overfilled?
How many hours on the engine?
Has it been rebuilt?
How is the compression?
Does it have loose rings?
IYT Yachtmaster Coastal Instructor
As I sail, I praise God, and care not. (Luke Foxe)
Old 08-26-2009

flatracker is on a distinguished road
Slicks

How much of a slick. How many hours on the engine. Had it been sitting a long time without running. A slick could be either engine oil, or unburned diesel. Or if you have a trans. oil cooler could be trans. oil.
Old 08-26-2009