Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance > Engines > Diesel
 Not a Member? 

Diesel This is a forum dedicated to diesel engines and their applicable accessories.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-28-2010

snowdawg is on a distinguished road
Yanmar fuel/ power problems

Hi everyone. Newbie here.
Hope some one can help me here
Short history 2 weeks ago my Yanmar SB8 was running fine no problems. Last weekend came down to fire it up and it wouldnít start.
Cause : fuel had turned (my fault 6 months old. not watching it.) So far Iíve removed the fuel, cleaned the tank and lines, change the racor filter and cleaned the primary yanmar filter, added new fuel ( with the proper additive) and bled the lines.

Heres my problem.
Motor starts and runs. But if I throttle up its slow to respond and if I put it in gear it boggs down and I get black smoke. Iím hoping this might be air still in the lines but Iím starting to think it might be the injector is fowled.

Any help would be appreciated and thanks for your time.

Snowdawg
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-28-2010

sawingknots is on a distinguished road
bad injector,exhaust system clogged/restricted,air intake restricted, prop/prop shaft fowled,engine component[alternator,water-pump etc]not turning freely,bad trans.bearing.i would eliminate the possibilities starting at the easiest until i found the problem.i doubt its air in the lines,i also doubt diesel would go bad in 6 mo.
Old 07-28-2010

Thanks for replying. I will check those things you mentioned. The fuel was pretty obvious the start of my problem. I had been adding a little fuel to the over the months but no biocide / additive for the diesel. It had turned cloudy with small black dots in it and it would not fire on it. Once I changed out the fuel filters and fuel I got it to fire up.
Old 07-28-2010