Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance > Engines > Diesel
 Not a Member? 

Diesel This is a new forum dedicated to diesel engines and their applicable accessories.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-24-2010

jimmy is on a distinguished road
Where to bleed air?!

I changed the fuel filter (BF940) on my older (gold color) Universal M-18 diesel engine. First time for me. The manual (totally useless piece of writing) says that it is important to bleed the air from the top of the filter and also (maybe) from the injector pump, but -- naturally -- provides no explanation nor diagram to show where these points are. I am a complete novice, so I don't want to start randomly loosening screws in there. I don't even know where the injector pumps are, but I have attached a photo of the top of the filter assembly. The "top" of the picture is starboard, and the bottom is port. The left of the picture is forward and the right aft. Any help at all would be hugely appreciated.

Last edited by jimmy; 09-24-2010 at 10:14 AM. Reason: cannot see the picture I uploaded
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 09-24-2010

I can't see the picture I uploaded anywhere.....
Old 09-24-2010
Handsome devil

Stillraining is a jewel in the rough Stillraining is a jewel in the rough Stillraining is a jewel in the rough
There should be a bleed screw on the filter housing you screwed your filter to..either high on the side or right on top....No need to remove it just loosen it a turn or two and manually pump your fuel pump until all air is removed and clear fuel flows.

Relationships are everything to me..everything else in life are just tools to enhance them.