SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Diesel (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/diesel/)
-   -   Yanmar Transmission Clutch Problem (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/diesel/92041-yanmar-transmission-clutch-problem.html)

ncapener 09-12-2012 07:56 PM

Yanmar Transmission Clutch Problem

Hello,

I have a 3 HM 35 engine with a KBW10 transmission.
Recently the clutch started to slip, now it does not engage at all.
I took the transmission out and the cover off. I am looking inside the housing at two shafts with gears on them, a shift fork and what appears to be clutch plates on the larger shaft.
I would like to repair/ replace the gear box myself. How do I proceed ? Drawings or pictures available anywhere? I think, I can get the parts. I am not a mechanic, but I have a good set of tools and have taken a VW transmission apart once and changed the synchro rings....
Anybody done that job and can help?

If not possible to repair, Is there a way to lock the gear box in forward to get home???

Thanks,
Neal

Capt. Gary Randall 09-12-2012 10:36 PM

Re: Yanmar Transmission Clutch Problem

hello there, First of all ,Do you know exactly what caused the problem in the first place. Did it run out of oil? Do you see Water in the transmission? Do you think it has that many hours on it that is actually just naturally wore the clutches?? Do you have a bearing failure? Is there any metal in the case? Are the metal filings magnetic? captg

kd3pc 09-13-2012 07:40 AM

some manuals and parts breakdown are available on the net...I found the kbw 20

the real chore is getting the parts, even the wear items are tough. Since you have it out, you will need to source clutch plates and bearings, but it would be good to know what caused the clutch to start to slip....lack of use and the wrong lube are the biggest causes ....