Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance > Electrical Systems
 Not a Member? 
Old 10-21-2014

Rockter will become famous soon enough
advice on chart plotter?

Folks...

I am new to chartplotters. Every man and his boat seems to have one so I guess it's time to indulge.
I was looking at a simple model, perhaps the Standard Horizon Cp390i. It is not too expensive and the screen is not too wee.

I just need some simple chart-plot functions to aid my normal GPS and landmarks and paper chart plotting. I also have a simple radar, the JRC 1000.

What do you think of the CP290i.

It's got to be simple to use. I just need basic functions.

Thanks...

Rockter.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 10-21-2014

MarkSF is on a distinguished road
Re: advice on chart plotter?

My suggestion would be to find a large West Marine store, and have a look at a few models. Try a few basic functions like navigating to a waypoint. This will give you a feel for ease of use.

My Lowrance HDS 5m has a great feature set, but I find it a bit tricky to use. Hardly the most intuitive interface.
Old 10-21-2014

Rockter will become famous soon enough

Mark...

Thanks.

I am in the north of the UK and there is no West Marine equivalent within range.
Old 10-23-2014
Sailor

Gladrags1 is on a distinguished road