Radar - what to look for - SailNet Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 34 Old 10-25-2014 Thread Starter

Radar - what to look for

I've never used radar before, but am planning to install one before we head down the St. Lawrence River next So I ask you:
  • What features are important to those of you who use radar?
  • What technical specs should I key into?
  • What features should I ignore?
  • Are there some brands that are more (or less) reliable?
At this point my main priorities are:
  • Quality/reliability.
  • Good short and medium range effectiveness.
  • Low(ish) power consumption.
  • Ease of use.
  • Cost.
Some of the features which I think are important (but I might be wrong):
  • Chart overlay
  • Multi-speed RPM.
  • Colour.
  • Auto-tracking.
Obviously I'll be doing a lot of research on the various systems. There seems to be a lot of brand-specific verbiage (Broadband, HD, 3G, 4G xHD, digital...). Would appreciate the real-life experience from those of you who use radar.

Why go fast, when you can go slow.
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 34 Old 10-25-2014
Old enough to know better

Re: Radar - what to look for

This is a thread I will watch, but are you familiar with Panbo.com? I only fairly recently found it. He has some excellent reviews of different electronics. One thing is do you already have a chart plotter that you want to overlay on? That could be a major consideration.
post #3 of 34 Old 10-25-2014
Mermaid Hunter

Imagery analysis (looking at the display and understanding what you look at) is not entirely intuitive. There are a number of courses, some online, to give you a leg up.

sail fast and eat well, dave
S/V Auspicious
AuspiciousWorks.com
beware "cut and paste" sailors.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #4 of 34 Old 10-25-2014 Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by miatapaul View Post