Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance > Electrical Systems
 Not a Member? 
Old 11-07-2010

Spoonman is on a distinguished road
Wiring things together

Yes, I realize I'm probably overthinking, but I'm a computer programmer by trade and in my world most problems are caused but 'under-thinking' so I'd rather spend a lot more time thinking about the problem, getting answers, and then solving it once the right way.

I now have several gauges of wire, some red and some yellow, and I have most of my plan for wiring navigation lights, interior lights, and interior fans. What I'm wondering about is splicing wires.

It doesn't seem like a good idea to run one set of wires from the electrical panel and back for each individual light. Wiring them in parallel makes the most sense. The current wiring has one positive 12g and one negative 12g wire running from the electrical panel near the companionway to the forward-most light. All of the lights in between have 14g wires spliced into the 12g. It appears that some insulation was removed at key places along the 12g wires so that the ends of the wires going to lights could be wrapped around the exposed 12g wire, soldered, and then shrink-wrapped.

In my reading I have seen some explanation of soldering this type of connection but I have also seen 3-way terminal connectors. What do people really use in the field these days?

The wrap and solder approach seems kind of old-school to me while the 3-way doesn't seem to have a good way to shrink-wrap the ring which would leave exposed metal in the middle of the wire. I have also seen a step-down butt connector used. In this configuration I would cut the 12g, put 12g on the small side and put both the continuation of the 12g and the beginning of the 14g that goes to the light in the big end. Or maybe there's another way.