SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Electrical Systems (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/electrical-systems/)
-   -   Custom Electronic Design (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/electrical-systems/70175-custom-electronic-design.html)

asdf38 11-25-2010 05:57 PM

Custom Electronic Design

I know there are some other engineers out there so I'm wondering if anyone has tried any custom electronic design for their boats. I'm a hardware engineer with plenty of experience designing 12V systems, but no experience designing for harsh environments.

I've got a few ideas that would be fun to design and cheap to implement - until you consider the environment anyways:

-Design a small board for the electrical panel with a display for voltage and current draw. It would have a micro-controller so I imagine I could think of a couple other things for it to do (current/voltage history, averages, etc.)
Microcontroller with analog input and flash memory $3
Two character display $4

-Design a battery distribution board for the house/starter banks that could monitor battery current/voltage, implement a battery sensing relay and provide short circuit protection in addition to a regular fuse.
Current sensing (would need bi-directional) $1
High power mosfet, good for ~20A, several could be put in paralel $2
Mosfet driver $6

So, on paper its all real cheap (Fab the PCB at expresspcb.com) But how can it be designed to hold up? Waterproof enclosures I suppose. Protective coatings or epoxies? Any other thoughts? Anyone tried anything like this?

Chris

sailingdog 11-25-2010 06:06 PM

Why re-invent the wheel. Battery monitors that are designed for the marine environment and already made to deal with the harsh conditions aren't that expensive, come with a warranty, a shunt and are ready to go out of the box.

SVAuspicious 11-25-2010 06:06 PM

I've done odds and ends, but this guy is the bomb: Blog | Nomadness | Geek expressionism at sea

brak 11-25-2010 09:27 PM