SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Electronics (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/electronics/)
-   -   Chartplotter at the nav station (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/electronics/134257-chartplotter-nav-station.html)

Hudsonian 04-14-2014 10:06 PM

Chartplotter at the nav station

My wife and I recently looked at a boat with a Raymarine c-70 at the nav station. Can a repeater located at the helm?

CharlzO 04-15-2014 11:25 PM

Re: Chartplotter at the nav station

There are many options out there for dual displays (not sure exactly which models off-hand, I'm still fairly new to it all myself), but there are plenty that offer remote displays, or syncing with iPhones/iPads etc. Easy way is to pull up an owners manual online for the units you're considering, and see if they list it as an option.

Hudsonian 04-15-2014 11:32 PM

Thanks I checked the product description on the Raymarine website but hadn't thought to download the manual. Duh!

SVAuspicious 04-16-2014 06:57 AM

You might also consider moving the C70 chartplotter on deck and put a laptop with nav software at the nav station.

PBzeer 04-16-2014 08:35 AM

I use a laptop at the nav station, rather than a pedestal mount, since I don't steer by the chartplotter. If I'm going to be looking at any instrumentation, it's the depth sounder.

Hudsonian 04-16-2014 11:34 AM

Thank you, charlzo. I checked the C-70 manual which referred me to the installation instructions. The installation instructions show that the C-70 supports external wind, knot log, and depth displays but no supplemental chartplotter display.

I'm disappointed. I frequently refer to the data from the chartplotter when at the helm. Going below to get this information strikes me as inconvenient and when I'm the sole person on watch dangerous.

These instruments are quite weather resistant. Why would they be mounted below? Theft protection?

BarryL 04-16-2014 04:04 PM

Hey,