Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance > Electronics
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-16-2014

lancelot9898 is on a distinguished road
ipads or tablets with built in GPS

Apparently there is a Lenovo miix 2 tablet with this capability. Seems like there should be other choices out there, but after talking to the apple folks there is nothing in their product line that has this capability other than using wi fi which is useless off shore. I've been using a garmin product for over 5 years now that fits on my wrist that tells me my speed while I jog that has the built in gps antenna. You would think that tablets could have this capability without having to get a service contract with the phone company.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 08-16-2014

Stumble is on a distinguished road
Re: ipads or tablets with built in GPS

You don't have to have a service contract on an ipad to use the GPS. But you do have to buy one with the capability.

The other option is to buy a wifi only ipad and a bluetooth GPS. But this is the same price as buying the 3G version in the first place.
Old 08-16-2014

jackdale will become famous soon enough

I have a Asus Vivo Tab Smart with a built in GPS.

Open CPN and Centrafuse Localizer are the programs I use.

I recently added Navionics Central and South America
IYT Yachtmaster Coastal Instructor
ASA 201, 203, 204, 205, 206, 214
As I sail, I praise God, and care not. (Luke Foxe)
Old 08-16-2014
If it's blowin' I'm goin'

TakeFive will become famous soon enough

Quote:
Originally Posted by lancelot9898 View Post