Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance > Electronics
 Not a Member? 
Old 10-28-2009

PaulinVictoria is on a distinguished road
Canadian and US ENC charts

Probably a stupid question (hey, I'm new to it all ), as I believe, Canadian and US charts differ in a number of ways, one of which is a different chart datum for depths. Does this also apply to ENC charts, and if so, how do GPS/plotters deal with it?

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 10-28-2009
Just another Moderator

Faster has a spectacular aura about Faster has a spectacular aura about Faster has a spectacular aura about
The plotters from any of the manufacturers primarily use variously digitized versions of that government's official charts. They do not want the liability of producing their own. So whether paper or electronic, you get the same picture (except for colour vs monochrome depending on the display)

Which is fine in Canada and the US, as long as you understand what each chart system is telling you. In Mexico, however, there's been no updating for literally hundreds of years and the charts (paper and electronic) are notoriously bad... everytime we anchored within a 1/2 mile of the beach the plotter showed us 1/2 mile inland!. Sure wouldn't want to make a night time landfall there without radar!

1984 Fast/Nicholson 345 "FastForward"

".. there is much you could do at sea with common sense.. and very little you could do without it.."
Capt G E Ericson (from "The Cruel Sea" by Nicholas Monsarrat)
Old 10-28-2009

Hmm, so if (for example) I'm cruising off around the San Juan, Haro strait type areas and I go between the US and Canadian charts, I have to try and figure out which chart is which and therefore what the depths are telling me (ENC, not paper, it's pretty obvious with paper ones!)?