Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance > Electronics
 Not a Member? 
Old 12-25-2009

bobdamiano is on a distinguished road
Help a noob with NMEA, OpenCPN, Garmin, Raymarine

Hello,

I'm new to boat ownership and have a few questions about onboard networking devices. I have a Garmin 440/s, and the ship has Raymarine, speed and depth. I've been fooling around with OpenCPN (which is awesome), and I'm wondering about the best way to put it all together.

It seems that I'll need a NMEA multiplexer with a USB port for the computer. At the very least, I'd like to be able to transfer routes and tracks between the 440/s and my laptop. Is it simply a matter of choosing a Multiplexer, wiring the NMEA port of the Garmin to it, and plugging in the laptop to the USB?

Any advice on most trouble-free multiplexer? Any particular troubles with USB drivers (I'm using win xp pro) for multiplexers?

Thanks for any advice!

-Bob
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 12-26-2009

negrini is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to negrini Send a message via Yahoo to negrini Send a message via Skype™ to negrini
You don't need a mux to transfer such data. You can use your serial port at laptop wired to Garmin. If it doesn't have one, use a USB - serial adapter. Although not the designed option, the RS-232 adapter will work fine.
Old 12-31-2009
Oday 30 & Ranger 23

RecoveringRacer is on a distinguished road
Using a PC as Realtime Chartplotter with a Garmin GPS