Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance > Electronics
 Not a Member? 
Old 04-19-2010
Badger Sailor

MSN2Travelers is on a distinguished road
Question Raymarine ST4000+ question ...

I have no previous experience with autopilots.
I’m looking at a boat that has a 1999 era Raymarine ST-4000+ autopilot (wheel pilot) installed. The owner removed part of the wheel drive and has it stored in the lazarette.

The broker said the owner felt the wheel was binding/dragging and took it out. It looks like all the wheels `n such are intact and the wheel drive unit could be put back together.

The control head display was blank when I powered up with the rest of the instruments. The broker thinks the owner may have disconnected power to the control head at the same time he disassembled the wheel drive.

Assume the wheel drive unit is put back together and connected again, what is “normal” when the instrument cluster is powered up? The manual says “When switched on, the ST4000 will be in `standby’ mode.” I can’t find a switch and the manual doesn’t really say anything about what should be displayed on the control head when it is powered up.
`99 Beneteau Oceanis 352, #282 WiTCHCRAFT
Milwaukee, WI
Sailing Lake Michigan and the Great Lakes
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 04-19-2010
Just another Moderator

Faster has a spectacular aura about Faster has a spectacular aura about Faster has a spectacular aura about
The two halves should snap together with a bit of pressure. Be sure to have the clutch disengaged and carefully feed the belt onto the inside rim. The lip on the outer case will have to 'snap' over the roller edges. Depending on how often this has been done, you may need to support the drive unit somehow if the snap fit is not as tight as original. These units will not stand up well to frequent removal and reinstallation.