Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance > Electronics
 Not a Member? 
Old 10-08-2010
Sea Slacker

brak is on a distinguished road
Furuno instruments

I am looking for a set of NMEA2000 instruments, to help in development of PolarCOM.

So far I've looked primarily at this Furuno instruments set: Product Detail - FI50DSW

I have no experience with these (personally, I am a lifelong fan of Raymarine and Seatalk, but that's not going to help product development).

How are these instruments in real use? How's Furuno usability in general? Are there any other instrument systems out there using NMEA2000?
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 10-08-2010
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice
Simrad's IS series also use NMEA 2K. I believe the new Raymarine ST70 gear is also NMEA 2000 compatible...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Telstar 28
New England

You know what the first rule of sailing is? ...Love. You can learn all the math in the 'verse, but you take
a boat to the sea you don't love, she'll shake you off just as sure as the turning of the worlds. Love keeps
her going when she oughta fall down, tells you she's hurting 'fore she keens. Makes her a home.

—Cpt. Mal Reynolds, Serenity (edited)

If you're new to the Sailnet Forums... please read this
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Still—DON'T READ THAT POST AGAIN.
Old 10-08-2010
Sea Slacker

Have you (anyone) actually used any of these? Any pros/cons?

I probably need to look into Raymarine devices.
Old 10-09-2010

olson34 is on a distinguished road
I have used a Furuno 1715 radar for several seasons and a Garmin 3005C chartplotter w/sounder module even longer.