Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance > Electronics
 Not a Member? 
Old 07-02-2011

MarkSF is on a distinguished road
Another radio interference thread

My problem is that I get intermittent noise on my VHF, and the only way to stop it is by turning the squelch all the way up. I don't think it's someone else with a stuck mike, as it's happened the last 3 weekends.

Is it likely to be an antenna fault, or a source of electrical noise on the boat? Makes no difference whether I'm motoring or sailing.

I've ordered a handheld VHF to see if that suffers from the same affliction
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-02-2011

mitiempo will become famous soon enough mitiempo will become famous soon enough
I'm not a radio expert by any means, but if the interference is there when sailing experiment a bit. It is probably from something on your boat. When sailing turn the main battery switch off and see if that stops the interference. If so, with every circuit turned off turn the main switch back on. One at a time try each switch and see if you can find the one causing the problem.
Old 07-02-2011
Oathkeepers member

jerryrlitton will become famous soon enough
Send a message via ICQ to jerryrlitton Send a message via MSN to jerryrlitton Send a message via Yahoo to jerryrlitton Send a message via Skype™ to jerryrlitton
Try changing channels 1st, if the problem goes away then you can say it is a stuck mic or the like.

Jerry
If you always put limit on everything you do, physical or anything else, it will spread into your work and into your life. There are no limits. There are only plateaus, and you must not stay there, you must go beyond them.

Bruce Lee

LET'S GET SERIOUS ABOUT ENFORCING OUR PRESENT LAWS NOW

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 07-03-2011

VetMike is on a distinguished road