SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Endeavour (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/endeavour/)
-   -   E-32 Buying (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/endeavour/84134-e-32-buying.html)

algee 02-20-2012 07:43 PM

E-32 Buying

I am looking at an mid seventies E-32, and would like any info re this model as far as what problems to look for before making an offer. The boat is in the water, has not been used for some time, has Yanmar2qm engine, needs a complete cleaning inside and out.

Thanks Al

Ritchard 02-29-2012 11:37 AM

It seems a shame that no-one has answered after a week. I bought a '79 last year, and found it to be a very stout vessel, very thickly-built hull with no issues.

I'm no expert, but it seems to me, check the regular stuff and weigh repairs/replacements against purchase price.

In my case, I have learned that there is no such thing as a great deal on a sailboat. The purchase price is only the beginning. It has been said that a $30K boat is a $30K boat, no matter what you pay for it. Again, in my case, my boat needed very little done, but I have spent $thousands anyhow.

But don't let me discourage you. If the boat makes you smile, buy it.

MarioG 03-04-2012 12:18 PM

We have had our E-32 for a little over a year now. It was in great condition when we bought her, and the thousands we spent have been on making it "MORE" liveaboard then repairs.

We have sailed it amost 3000 nm's and couldn't be more happy with the boat.

They seem to be very well built so I would be looking for neglect and what PO have done alonng the way.

wrbanwal 03-09-2012 09:24 PM

Re: E-32 Buying

We did not buy a E-32. We found a clean E-37. Probably the only one in Michigan. After my initial concerns about sailing characteristics that are well documented and the love/hate with the unique "look" were dismissed by the Admiral, we bought it