Not a Member? 

Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By Mani Moana
  • 1 Post By Robbyn

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-20-2012

algee is on a distinguished road
E-32 Buying

I am looking at an mid seventies E-32, and would like any info re this model as far as what problems to look for before making an offer. The boat is in the water, has not been used for some time, has Yanmar2qm engine, needs a complete cleaning inside and out.

Thanks Al
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 02-29-2012
No more curry buffets

Ritchard is on a distinguished road
It seems a shame that no-one has answered after a week. I bought a '79 last year, and found it to be a very stout vessel, very thickly-built hull with no issues.

I'm no expert, but it seems to me, check the regular stuff and weigh repairs/replacements against purchase price.

In my case, I have learned that there is no such thing as a great deal on a sailboat. The purchase price is only the beginning. It has been said that a $30K boat is a $30K boat, no matter what you pay for it. Again, in my case, my boat needed very little done, but I have spent $thousands anyhow.

But don't let me discourage you. If the boat makes you smile, buy it.
Old 03-04-2012

MarioG is on a distinguished road
We have had our E-32 for a little over a year now. It was in great condition when we bought her, and the thousands we spent have been on making it "MORE" liveaboard then repairs.

We have sailed it amost 3000 nm's and couldn't be more happy with the boat.

They seem to be very well built so I would be looking for neglect and what PO have done alonng the way.
Old 03-09-2012

wrbanwal is on a distinguished road
Re: E-32 Buying

We did not buy a E-32. We found a clean E-37. Probably the only one in Michigan. After my initial concerns about sailing characteristics that are well documented and the love/hate with the unique "look" were dismissed by the Admiral, we bought it