Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Out There > Destinations > Florida & SE US East Coast > Florida - Keys
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-28-2014

DawnRoss is on a distinguished road
Question Best route from Melbourne to Key West???

I'll be sailing from Melbourne FL (Space Coast) to Key West in 20 days... It's my first long trip and everyone I talk to seems to have a different opinion, all of which will "save me three days" Our options are ICW then outside at Lake Worth, or Okeechobee across to Ft. Meyers. There seem to be pros and cons to both routes.. i.e. It's my first time in the ocean.. Any advice would be much appreciated..
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 04-28-2014
cruising all I can

joethecobbler is on a distinguished road
Re: Best route from Melbourne to Key West???

any advice you say?
I would suggest you not go.
I see some potential issues with how this whole trip is planned, or not planned.
this is a sailboat we're talking about? so the "best " route is jump outside and sail it.
However, you stated it would be your first time outside!
that's your first possible issue, maybe it would have been more prudent to take her in and out a few times to alleviate the obvious questions you have about going out in the big O.
Another is your "schedule " you're going in 20 days? well,I hope the weather is cooperating,cuz if anyone's telling you what the weather is going to be in three weeks ,their full of it.I'll be able to tell the weather, in three weeks.
even motoring the ditch the weather is a primary consideration.
So,your whole premiss if flawed .
don't mean you shouldn't go,just hoping to give you a different perspective on how to look at sailing to go someplace.