Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Contributing Authors > Gear and Maintenance Articles
 Not a Member? 

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-13-2002
Contributing Authors

Mark Matthews is on a distinguished road
Cosmetic Maintenance

What's the best way to clean teak? And what's the best way to polish a fiberglass sailing boat? I'm a little new to all of this.

Mark Matthews responds:
Thanks for the question. There are probably as many ways to clean teak as there are types of boats floating, it's all a matter of who you ask. Still, you're right to ask because properly maintained teak can add the finishing touch to a vessel, often making the difference between boat and yacht, and it certainly prolongs the life of the wood. There are some things to think about before you get started, namely whether you plan on oiling or varnishing your teak, or whether you'll be applying something like Cetol to the wood.

Scrubbing teak with teak brushes and chemical cleaners is one way to get the first part of the job done. Don Casey, the author of This Old Boat, recommends using one-part cleaners or a solution of TSP along with a synthetic scrubber. He advises allowing the solution to sit for several minutes, and then hose off and repeat the process. Once you clean the teak, the best thing to do is to keep it clean, which also means keeping it oiled or varnished. If you go the oil route, it's easier if you are diligent about reapplying the oil—otherwise the wood will collect some of the dirt and residue that finds its way aboard every boat, and you'll have to start all over again. But keep in mind that repeatedly scrubbing teak will ultimately cause the wood to break down and flow out of your scuppers over a long period of time.