SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

First Fiberglass Repair

5K views 0 replies 1 participant last post by  SailNet 
#1 ·
I currently own a 1968 Johnson X boat that my Dad bought new when he was 18 years old. It looks great and sails great, but the bow section is begining to deteriorate. It is a fiberglass and foam sandwich and the foam is breaking down due to old age causing the hull and deck to flex an insane amount in certain areas. One of these days the fiberglass is going to flex too far and crack. It's not worth spending the money to fix since it would be cheaper to buy a new boat. Is there anything I can do myself to try and save her? I have never worked with fiberglass before, but I am willing to give it a try. She means too much to me to junk her but I don't want to pay someone to rebuild her for me.
SailNet responds: