SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

sunfish keel repair

5K views 10 replies 6 participants last post by  cederholm 
#1 ·
Hi all,

I'm new to sailing and have acquired a sunfish to learn to sail in. The hull is in good shape overall, but has suffered keel rash from multiple beach launchings. The fiberglass is structurally sound, but the gel coat is warn away to the cloth weaving. I've done a bit of research and understand the difference between waxed and unwaxed gel coat. But I'm not sure how many coats or how thick I should make the gel coat.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

~ Carl

PS - I have worked with fiberglass in the past as well as different auto finishes. ...if that matters at all.:D

#2 ·
Hi all,

I'm new to sailing and have acquired a sunfish to learn to sail in. The hull is in good shape overall, but has suffered keel rash from multiple beach launchings. The fiberglass is structurally sound, but the gel coat is warn away to the cloth weaving. I've done a bit of research and understand the difference between waxed and unwaxed gel coat. But I'm not sure how many coats or how thick I should make the gel coat.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

~ Carl

PS - I have worked with fiberglass in the past as well as different auto finishes. ...if that matters at all.:D
Gelcoat is just a cosmetic finish... No structual strength in it.

The the answer has to be apply a few coats and sand till smooth you can keep applying gelcoat with wax in it after sanding .each coat till you have the job as smooth as you would like it to be.
Then a very thin coat just to seal it all off...

#4 ·
Carl,