Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree8Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-17-2013

Skagit is on a distinguished road
Practice deck core layups?

Hi all-

Bought a new boat and have looming deck core replacement. I'm a total rookie when it comes to fiberglass and was considering doing some practice layups so that my first exposure to glass work is not when I have a huge hole in my deck.

I was thinking about building a cardboard tray to roughly approximate the lower skin of the cleaned out deck section, and then doing the plywood/resin/top skin buildup. Maybe even fair and paint the top.

Would this be time well spent?

--Skagit out.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 06-17-2013

Brent Swain is on a distinguished road
Re: Practice deck core layups?

I could never understand why anyone would use something prone to rot for cores, when foam is inert, with zero chance of rot. Where's the logic in stuff like balsa core?
Old 06-17-2013

Amen to that Brent. Is foam structurally equivalent to balsa or plywood? I'm game for a no-rot substitute.

--Skagit out
Old 06-17-2013

bljones has a spectacular aura about bljones has a spectacular aura about

Skagit, a trial board is a good idea- the time and material you expend learning how to do it OFF the boat will save you more time and money when you do it ON the boat.
The problem isn't the coring material, it is water intrusion.
Balsa is a GOOD core material specifically because it retains good compression strength even when/if it gets wet, but there are some arguably BETTER core materials- like corecell. But prepare for sticker shock when you price Corecell, and ask yourself whether you might just be better off properly potting and isolating all of the deck penetrations to keep moisture out of the core.
bristol299bob and SloopJonB like this.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 06-17-2013
Tartan 27' owner