Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree5Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-23-2013

Amateur_Expert is on a distinguished road
Mast leaning forward (new mast step)

Hi,

I am a beginner sailboat owner and have been working on a '74 Laguna Windrose since Feb 2012.. so I am trying to learn to sail while having learned (and still learning) how to build/fabricate & repair the darn thing!

I have replaced the mast bracket along with the cracked damaged fiberglass below it, I did this last year and beefed it up about a half an inch.

I purchased the replacement bracket from Dwyer Mast and although they have VERY LIMITED tech support and a very limited desire to offer advice on the application of their products, they did tell me that the mast is supposed to rest flat on the bracket (I guess it's actually called the "step"?). This makes sense to achieve a solid mast IMO.

With that being said, mine is definitely leaning forward. This happened b/c the surface on the deck is slightly slanted.

My question is this: Should I use a "shim" under the mast (if so what kind?) to level the mast or should I just leave it flat and thereby slanted. Or should I remove the bracket and build up the fiberglass??

Any input greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Shawn T
Wichita KS
Attached Thumbnails
Mast leaning forward (new mast step)-img_20130614_063742.jpg   Mast leaning forward (new mast step)-img_20130614_063824.jpg   Mast leaning forward (new mast step)-img_20130623_084745.jpg   Mast leaning forward (new mast step)-img_20130623_084758.jpg  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 06-23-2013
1934 Chickering

deniseO30 will become famous soon enough deniseO30 will become famous soon enough
Re: Mast leaning forward (new mast step)