Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-06-2013

BillA98272 is on a distinguished road
Cleaning boat cushions

Slowly working on this old boat and I'm a newbie. Time to clean v-birth and seatee cushions. I'm not sure if hosing them down is a good idea. The boat has sat since 2008 and they have been kept dry. There isn't any real mildew smell or anything like that. They are a heavy upholstery material not sunbrella and not sure what type of foam is inside. Anyome have pointer on cleaning them?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using Tapatalk 4 Beta
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-06-2013
Crealock 37

sailak is on a distinguished road
Re: Cleaning boat cushions

We have taken ours to a local business that does carpet and upholstery cleaning and had very good results. The cost to get the v-berth mattress cleaned was $80. I figure they have the knowledge, experience and equipment to do the job so it's worth the cost. It's a once in a while thing, I don't need the skill.

I'll save my skills for the routine maintenance and repairs on the boat.

S/V Elnora
Pacific Seacraft "Crealock" 37 #312

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 07-06-2013
sailing soon

mark2gmtrans is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to mark2gmtrans