• 1 Post By CorvetteGuy
  • 5 Post By Maine Sail
  • 2 Post By rhr1956
  • 1 Post By overbored

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-12-2013

budvar is on a distinguished road
Rewiring Mast. What Gauge?

Thanks for all previous help. You guys are great.

I'm rewiring my U.S. Yacht 25' mast. Mast is down. Have all new LED lights to install. Have the crimper, marine heat shrink connectors. Have 50 feet of 14 ga. 14/4.

My question. Is this too heavy or extravagant? I'm a nurse (always overbuild in things we don't know much about). I am going to Fisherman's supply this weekend, can pick up 16/4 if needed (if available), and can use the 14/4 to rewire the interior.

Thanks!
Chris
Pasco, Wa.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 07-12-2013

overbored is on a distinguished road
Re: Rewiring Mast. What Gauge?

14 is a bit large 18 would be more than enough. remember the fuse or breaker is sized to protect the smallest wire in the circuit not the device at the end of the wire. so if the leads supplied on the LED are smaller then #16 wire you need a breaker sized for the smaller size wire.
budvar likes this.
Old 07-12-2013
72 C&C Corvette

CorvetteGuy is on a distinguished road

14 gauge is a bit big for led mast lights. I would get 16 gauge for that and use the 14 for any 110v lights or recepticles you have on the interior.
budvar likes this.
Old 07-12-2013

Maine Sail is just really nice Maine Sail is just really nice Maine Sail is just really nice Maine Sail is just really nice

The bare minimum size for the wire used under ABYC standards would be 16GA. This is as much about durability as voltage drop. With 16/4 you won't have any voltage drop issues with LED but if someone were to ever convert back to incandescent then it very likely would not meet the max 3% drop for nav lights. If these are LED USCG Cert fixtures then you won't be worried about anyone swapping bulbs.