Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By Sabreman
  • 1 Post By RainDog
  • 1 Post By Sabreman

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-23-2013

cat27 is on a distinguished road
Need to rig my main halyard

I'm relatively new to sailboat ownership and haven't dealt with this problem before.

I'm in a share on Catalina 27. Unfortunately the owner was out the other day and lost the main halyard to the top of the mast. I went up on the spinnaker halyard + bos'n chair to take a look and ending up pulling the main halyard out of (what I assume is a pulley) at the top, so now the halyard completely off the mast. How do I fix this?

The problem with the spinnaker halyard + bos'n chair is our spinnaker line becomes a metal wire (and thus can't go around our winch) when I'm still about 2-3 ft from the top of the mast. I'm not quite gutsy enough to try kneeling/standing on the bos'n chair.

I have a rock climbing harness that I've actually never used before. I thought maybe I could give that a try going up. I presume this would get me a few feet higher as I'd clip the halyard lower on my body than where the bos'n chair clips.

Otherwise, I have a roller furler for my jib. I'm new to this system, but would my jib have a halyard as well. Perhaps I could use this to go up.

Once I get to the top, I assume it's just a pulley on the stern side of the mast that I have to loop the line around?
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-23-2013

Sabreman will become famous soon enough Sabreman will become famous soon enough
First, do NOT get out of the bosun chair! Ever.

Second, you should always go aloft with a safety line. In this case, that would mean the jib halyard. Drop the jib and attach it to the bosun chair along with the spin halyard. Take up slack on the safety line every 4' or so as you are hoisted.