Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By copacabana

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-27-2013

abrahamx is on a distinguished road
Chartplotter and transducers

I am new to sailing and newer to chartplotters. I would love to get the gpsmap 521 or 527 but not sure on the transducer thing. Do I have to purchase and install a new one or will I be able to use my existing ones? I am not sure what I have at the moment but the boat has a raymarine depthsounder and knotlog with temp. Two through hull transducers. Anyway to make it work or does raymarine sell chartplotters that would work with my current setup? Thanks for any help with this matter.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-27-2013

PaulinVictoria is on a distinguished road
Re: Chartplotter and transducers

There aren't that many companies that make transducers, so it's likely to work as long as you can figure out the correct wiring. Try it and see what happens.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 07-27-2013

MarkSF is on a distinguished road

I think it would help a lot if you could see if there are any part numbers on your transducers. Also, what kind of display were they being used with? Are those displays still working?

If you have working displays and transducers, I'd be tempted to leave them as they are, and just install a chartplotter.

The answer is you can make almost anything work with anything, but at what point does it become easier to replace the transducers than to battle with compatibility.

Also I find it better to have a separate display for the depth and speed, than to clutter up the chartplotter display.

Last edited by MarkSF; 07-27-2013 at 01:11 PM.
Old 07-27-2013
Maine Dub

34crealock is on a distinguished road