Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 09-15-2013

juddgefizzy is on a distinguished road
Diagram for upgrades - will they work?

Hey all, I've been working on some ideas for upgrades for next year for my Precision 165. We get a lot of light air where I'm at, so the main idea is to add hardware to support a genoa. Also, I'm looking to add some nice-to-haves to make the boat a little more single-handed friendly. This includes running the halyards back to the cockpit, and a lazy jack to douse the genoa, and adding slugs to the main to make it easier to hoist.

I'm completely new to hardware modification so I've been drawing out my ideas to hopefully fine tune everything before actually drilling any holes. I've pieced this together from photos and measurements, it's not quite accurate, but close enough to hopefully get the idea.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/1g2p7rwguj...cision-165.pdf

I'd appreciate any suggestions!
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 09-15-2013

MarkSF is on a distinguished road
Re: Diagram for upgrades - will they work?

If you can reduce the angle formed by the deck organisers on the halyards, that would reduce the load on the organisers. It looks like 90 degrees might be necessary to avoid the hatch slides, though.

What about reefing lines for the main? I find it rather useful to have the boomvang brought back to the cockpit too.
The Following User Says Thank You to MarkSF For This Useful Post:
juddgefizzy (09-15-2013)
Old 09-15-2013
always busy with sailing

Alex W is on a distinguished road

Look at some of the tricks used on dinghies to get good halyard tension without a winch. You certainly shouldn't need two cabin top winches on a boat this size, a single one that can handle both halyards is good enough.