SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Composting Toilets vs. Holding Tank

32K views 113 replies 36 participants last post by  copacabana 
#1 · (Edited)
I'm sure this has been discussed to death, but I'm new to boating and couldn't find a thread on this topic.

We recently bought a 1976 Catalina 27 with no holding tank. We'd like to live on board, which means we have to install either a holding tank or a composting head. We're leaning toward the latter, but I read in the news that Parks Canada was having some issues with composting toilets not working as well as advertised.

Does anyone have any experience with these?

#3 ·
I looked up the article you referenced and found this quote:

"Hill believes one of the problems is that liquid and solid waste are not separated at source. As a result of mixing the two before the urine is screened out, he says ammonia in the feces rises to levels that cannot support the micro-organisms needed for the composting process."

This makes total sense in a public park where there is no chance of teaching people how to use the facilities.

In your own boat if you are a guy you have to sit so your pee stream goes in the pee bottle.
The boat devices are designed for separation, that is what makes them work.

I have no personal experience, a little more searching will net you many commends from people that love them and hate them.

Pros: Simple and saves space.
Most people say the odor is less than with a holding tank even though a perfectly operating tank has no odor either.
I think the concept is that

Cons: You are dealing with a pee bottle every couple of days, most people just dump it overboard.
They sit a little higher
You have to have someplace to keep a spare 5gal pail of stuff to age before you dump it.
You have to have peat or other stuff to mix in.