SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Honda 9.9hp Outboard Won't Start

28K views 23 replies 17 participants last post by  mikefilippell 
#1 ·
Hi all,
I'm extremely new to sailing and have never had much experience with mechanical/electrical things of any kind, including automotive. So I'm hoping I'm just doing something wrong and it will be an easy fix! If not, well, it's a good opportunity to learn, right? ;)

The problem is that my partner and I recently bought a Catalina 27 with a Honda 9.9hp motor. It sat for about a month without use. We read through the manual and then went out to see if we could get the thing started. We were able to tilt it down properly and pull out the choke, set the lever correctly, etc.

But then when we pulled the starter, it wouldn't even turn over. I'm pretty sure we were pulling it fast and hard enough, although, as I said, total newbies here!

Help?

______
We are Waywardly Mobile

#2 ·
first did you have the kill switch clip connected. does it have gas in the tank, did you connect the fuel line, did you pump up the squeeze bulb on the fuel line. is it in neutral, it will only start in neutral

#5 ·
Is it electric start, or are you pulling a rope? If it's electric and you hear a click, that's not normal. If it's a rope, it should spin the motor, not click. If it's not in neutral, I think the rope might just pull out and not engage the flywheel?

Or is the motor seized? It should spin when starting.

#6 ·