Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 10-27-2013

YRoy is on a distinguished road
Grampian 28 Engine Mounts

Hello Everyone,

So this old 1975 Grampian 28 we just bought has cracked engine mounts. The engine shakes when it runs and this has been designated as the no. 1 issue to deal with before the boat is put back in the water.

What are those things made of? I'm guessing some kind of heavy hardwood blocks wrapped in fiberglass with polyester resin?

Anyone have any experiance repairing them without taking the engine out? The engine is at the end of its life but still works, so if the mounts are repaired just enough to last for a couple of years till we replace the engine I will be happy.

I can work fiberglass, wood and epoxy, weld steel or stainless. I just don't know which approach to pick since I've never worked on a boat before...

Thanks for any and all feedback...
Attached Thumbnails
Grampian 28 Engine Mounts-grampian28-1975a.jpg  
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 10-28-2013

Delta-T is on a distinguished road
Re: Grampian 28 Engine Mounts

When I rebuilt my engine, I had no vibration insulators, just bolted down. I changed that and added some I got from Grainger. Grainger Industrial Supply - MRO Supplies, MRO Equipment, Tools & Solutions are rated in weight of load and deflection (side movement). You do not want much movement because of the shaft should not be allowed to move, you will damage to Cutlass bearing. You will need to uncouple the shaft to make sure any mount changes you make does not change the alignment. Proper alignment is critical. Here is a video on how to align...https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kY0scm6bfdI

You may want to take this opportunity to change and or service the Cutlass and seal.

Last edited by Delta-T; 10-31-2013 at 09:11 AM.
Old 10-31-2013