SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Gear & Maintenance (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/gear-maintenance/)
-   -   Good GPS/chartplotter under a grand? (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/gear-maintenance/105185-good-gps-chartplotter-under-grand.html)

dixiedawg 10-31-2013 12:50 AM

Good GPS/chartplotter under a grand?

I don't need "cutting edge" features - I'm just a noob, and besides, I'm not technically inclined anyway. Just something to show me where I am, what's around me, and how deep it is. I guess screen size would be my only wish beyond that, and I guess screen size costs money.

I'd appreciate any suggestions, thanks!

PaulinVictoria 10-31-2013 01:26 AM

Re: Good GPS/chartplotter under a grand?

I'd be tempted by the Lowrance Elite 7, or the smaller 5 and put the balance towards something else useful for the boat.

4arch 10-31-2013 07:26 AM

The 7" Garmin 740s has dropped below $800. Even though it's an older model, it's not a bad price for a 7" as long as you don't mind that it's touch-only. The Simrad NSS7 can be had for under $900. Prices have really dropped in the last few years.

xort 10-31-2013 07:48 AM

Shop getfeetwet.com
excellent deals on closeouts, factory refurbs etc.

BarryL 10-31-2013 05:04 PM

Hey,

Some things to consider:
-Who is going to install it? Installation can get VERY expensive if you pay someone
-How big a screen do you want / need? Units that have 5" screens are cheap, 7" not too bad, bigger than that gets real expensive
-What, if any, interfacing will you do to any existing stuff? Will you connect the plotter to your VHF so the DSC features work (I hope so)? What about wind, depth, autopilot? Some units are easier to interface than others
-Do you want the ability to add XM weather, RADAR, SONAR, or other features?

Lowrance makes some decent cheaper units. Raymarine is probably the most expensive. Standard Horizon has a rep for great service.

Barry

DRFerron 10-31-2013 05:10 PM