Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 12-08-2013

cjmcfall is on a distinguished road
Wiring Help Please

I need some help. Over the next bit I'll be re-wiring some of my engine / charging systems on the youth sailing school boat (Carter 33) I've posted about here before.

Here's the deal:

Engine: Volvo MD6A equipped with the Dynastart (also a charger) and an alternator. The boat has two batteries with a Perko switch. The PO removed the battery cable from one of the batteries and changed some wiring around from the original design. I'd like to replace the battery cables altogether as they're in pretty rough shape and reinstall the cables that the PO removed. Basically cleaning things up, removing old wiring and making it a generally safer system.

From my understanding (I'm a structural engineer not an electrical engineer so bear with me), the Dynastart should charge the "start" battery and the alternator should charge the "house" battery. If this isn't the correct assumption, please, someone, point me in the right direction.

Basically, I'm hoping someone give me a simplified wiring diagram for how this systems "should" look? I have the wiring diagram downloaded from the interwebs, but it's a bit too complicated and I don't believe it has the Dynastart and alternator included. Maybe, if it would help, I could supply someone with a blank wiring digram with the important bits and have them fill in blanks.

As always, the help is much appreciated.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 12-09-2013

Re: Wiring Help Please

Update: After a lot of internet browsing, I've decided to not use the Dynastart to charge the start battery. But rather use the alternator to charge both and leave the Dynastart for starting only.