Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 11-18-2005

drynoc is on a distinguished road
Winterizing

Is there any reason why I couldn''t use windshield washer fluid to winterize the raw water side of my fresh water cooled Yanmar? It is a lot cheaper, and protects to very low temperatures. I''m in Virginia, where winter temperatures are normally moderate.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 11-18-2005
Señor Member

TrueBlue is a jewel in the rough TrueBlue is a jewel in the rough TrueBlue is a jewel in the rough
Winterizing

Windsheild washer fluid, although cheaper than non-toxic engine antifreeze and having anti-freeze characteristics, will not protect the iron components of the raw water section of your engine from corrosion.
Old 11-19-2005

Sailormon6 will become famous soon enough
Winterizing

This is my first year owning a diesel, so I used the good stuff to winterize my engine, but a lot of people use RV antifreeze. Is it any better than windshield washer fluid, or does it have the same deficiency?
Old 11-19-2005
Señor Member

TrueBlue is a jewel in the rough TrueBlue is a jewel in the rough TrueBlue is a jewel in the rough
Winterizing

Good question . . . I would suspect RV/Marine antifreeze to have a lower freeze point than washer fluid and is non-toxic, since it''s developed for use in pressurized onboard water systems . . . not that that matters any with a boat engine. However, all boaters should ensure that whatever is added to fill the engine block over the winter, is non-toxic. Good for the environment & safe for the critters & pets that may consume it.

Aside from that, there dosen''t appear to be any other advantages over washer fluid.