SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

A Bayliner Buccaneer 272 given to me 4 free?

5K views 10 replies 8 participants last post by  Jeff_H 
#1 ·
I’ve been offered a 1980 272 for free. It’s in a local lake with 12 inches of water standing inside. The owner has no trailer. The cabin would have to be completely redone due to the water damage. My biggest question I’d like to have answered is, is this repairable or has the standing water damaged the structural integrity of the boat? I’m a master trim carpenter so the woodwork should be relatively easy for me.
Frankly I have boat fever though I’ve been giving a lot to home build a sailboat,, I’m shocked and awed at the notion of a free boat! I could take it and haul it onto a regular flatbed trailer and savage the rigging, which appears to be intact. The mast has (lol) a sail in the front and a sail in the back in canvas, though I didn’t care to open the canvas and check the state of the fabic.
From the looks of it the lake level went down and nobody tended to the boat leaving it on shore. Upon lake filling water gained entry to the cabin/ hull. Beyond the fiberglass skin, do anyone know what the hull is comprised of? Are there wooden elements of the hull that now renders the boat junk, due to the water immersion?
Thanks ahead of time for any help you could send my way. Happy sailing.

#2 ·
don't worry too much

Bought a pearson Triton a while ago that had sat for several years with water inside, looked nasty.
surprisingly solid, and the woodwork was still in good but grungy shape, cleaned up nice.

Normally the hull is solid, not cored, though that seems to be changeable.
not an impossible job if it is, not fun, but doable.

www.geocities.com/merc2dogs

shows what mine looked like when I first picked it up.

ken.

#3 ·