Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 05-08-2006

Neicy is on a distinguished road
Lightening Ground Fuse

Trying to find a fuse for a 30 yr old Dufour. Boat survey indicated "lightening ground fuse needed replacing" on system. Have had no luck finding a fit. Any suggestions?
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 05-08-2006

LyleRussell is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to LyleRussell
I'm no electrician but I WOULD CHECK WITH ONE. If a "Lightening Ground fuse" blows you are no longer grounded and have no protection. You'll get fried in a strike.

That sounds like a rookie game to me. "find me 100' of shoreline" "Need a board stretcher", "Find me a smoke bender" etc.
Old 05-08-2006

jared is on a distinguished road
Neicy, are you translating this? Because if that is not a translation error, and a surveyor in the US actually wrote that, I would suggest he needs to be keelhauled.

Lightning grounds never are fused. They never need fusing. The nature of lightning is that you want the entire strike to always go to ground, and the ground bus itself will literally blow away (like a fuse) if the strike is excessive. There are no fuses on the consumer market that are designed to take megavolt megawatt service, which is what your lightning ground is designed for.

If, as it suggests, someone actually CHARGED you for replacing such a fuse? Then they should be keelhauled twice, and turned over to the local authorities for fraud.

Just remember, at least here in the US, you need an EPA permit before you can conduct a keelhauling.
Old 05-08-2006
Seinor Member

capn_dave is on a distinguished road
No Way!!! So me the fuse holder

I have to back up Jared on this. The lightning protection should go directly to a ground plate of sufficent size.
If there is a fuse in it I would like you to take a picture of the fuse holder.

Fair Winds

Cap'n Dave
Old 05-08-2006