Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 4 Days Ago
NOOB

lumpy102 is on a distinguished road
masthead sheaves

we've just purchased a C&C 33 MKII, it looks like none of the halyards have EVER been replaced, Westmarine is having a sale today, which brings me to my questions. Is anyone familiar with the masthead on a C&C 33? the halyards are cable/rope and I was wondering about the sheaves up there, are they cut for the 5/32 cable or are they cut for the 7/16 lines? have I missed the opportunity to replace everything at a 40% savings? can the sheaves be replaced easily or do I need to take the mast down? I'm a rope rescue tech so working at height isnt going to bother me. (the boat is 250 miles from where I live or I'd go have a look see)
Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 4 Days Ago

Sanduskysailor is on a distinguished road
Re: masthead sheaves

I have a similar vintage 29-II. VPC halyards have worked well for me with the original sheaves. 10MM VPC which is on sale is what I would recommend for the jib and main halyards. 3/8" Sta Set for the spinnaker halyard.

I would also go aloft with a file to check and fix any burrs on the sheaves.

If you are racing a lot you might want to use 8MM V-100 for the jib halyard. Very, very low stretch

Good luck, those rope prices at West are really good for today only.
Old 4 Days Ago

VallelyJ is on a distinguished road