Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 03-15-2015

catalina'80 is on a distinguished road
1980 c27 mast issue.....

Ok guys, im a newbie but i bought a 1980 c27... today is raining, and ive been reading horror stories about mast rot and i have a leak coming through my mast just near the compression post through the wires. This boat is leaking in other places as well, it alsp has the symptom of green algae growing on deck at base of mast. I just redid the bulkheads the two shrouds attach to due to serious rot.... any diagnostic tests short of taking the mast out?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 03-16-2015
I break <-> I fix

SHNOOL is on a distinguished road
Re: 1980 c27 mast issue.....

If you are talking about a Catalina 27, it's a deck stepped mast (I believe)... downing the mast and inspecting the mast step (where the real problem is) is likely your only choice. I know on my Capri 25, the mast step was bolted through the roof, into a metal plate glassed into the fiberglass. 12x12" or something. This is definitely the case on my S2.

I know 2 members of our club (with Cat 27s) had changed the flanged mast step out for a hinged mast step (to make it easier to self raise the mast), as our lake doesn't have any marinas with a mast crane. They stepped their mast themselves. Also the C27 is different in which the preferred mast raising is from a "tilted forward" position, so one would drop forward...

This isn't the end of the world, but it IS a decent amount of work. If you can do the work from below, it'll prevent the deck from losing the look. This work has been done on my S2 7.9 because it had a similar problem. They did the work from above, and painted a large section under the base... it still looks OK. My vote is if you don't want perfect LOOK (but it could be even if you painted the whole roof), work from above it'll be easier.