SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

How do I fix this fractured fiberglass?

1K views 5 replies 5 participants last post by  newhaul 
#1 · (Edited)
The fiberglass on the hull (not the deck) a few inches beneath the forward mooring line chock has cracked/fractured, apparently due to the pressure against the glass from the line when the boat swings (I tried to attach a pic but I don't know if it posted). The glass is fully cracked and soft there. Questions:

1). Is this a critical time-sensitive fix (ie if I don't fix it quick, will water get in and do something awful like delaminate the whle hull, etc, or can I wait till after season to fix?).

2). How do I fix (I've never fixed fiberglass before...is this an easy, medium or hard job?). As you can tell, I'm not very experienced.

3). What can I do to prevent this from happening again (ie some type of metal fixture to protect the glass?).

Thanks!

#3 ·
Well there isn't a ton of magic to it. You grind out the old glass and lay on new layers of cloth and epoxy. Take a look at "West System", they have good online help to give you an idea. Also check youtube. Fiberglass is actually pretty easy to work with once you see the process.

If it's the hull it's probably solid glass with no core, but it seems like fixing a crack in your hull should be high priority.

#4 ·
Your thought that the hull has cracked due to a mooring pendant applying pressure when the boat swings seems unlikely--it's probably impact damage (e.g., piling or another hull). In any event asdf38 is correct. For more detail go to the West Epoxy site and download free 002-550 Fiberglass Boat Repair & Maintenance —84 pages. The work is messy and tedious but not difficult. If the fracture is not moving I'd tape over it and make the repairs when the boat is pulled for the winter.