Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 08-09-2006

crl21 is on a distinguished road
Foul Weather Gear

Hi I'm new to the sport of sailing. I just picked it up this summer and I'm loving it. I live in Michigan and hope to keep sailing through October. I've been sailing JY-15s and Lasers. The weather will start getting pretty cold in a month or so and I'd like to be prepared. I'm wondering what you suggest? Do I need just a jacket, pants, fleece? A wetsuit? I have no idea what would be best. If you could suggest brands that would be helpful too. I'm not looking to spend a ton of money, but I'd much rather spend a little extra now on quality then have to buy something every season or two. I already have a Marmot Precipe Jacket, I use for backpacking, camping, etc. The thing is super water proof and breathable, but I'm not so sure how well the velcro around my wrists will hold out the water. What do you think about something like this? I recognize it's not marine gear, but would it work? Thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 08-09-2006
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice
The velcro around the wrists is nice but really doesn't keep the water out like a proper latex or ureathane cuff does. If it s raining or you have the boat heeled over, and water splashing into the cockpit, you will quickly get very cold if you have water coming into the jacket via the sleeves. I've worn my Musto jacket when it was snowing and freezing rain and not had a problem with being wet. I think that it is worth investing in decent foul weather gear that has the appropriate design features for a marine environment—like retro-reflective patches, water-tight cuffs, etc.