Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 09-05-2006

Shack is on a distinguished road
Question 12v Appliances - Good/Bad/Ugly?

What 12v appliances are a waste of what would otherwise be good amperage?

I am planning an electrical system for a future boat. I'm finding many 12v versions of common household items such as washers/dryers, micowaves, fridge/freezers, etc. However, I have no experience with their actual performance. Inverters are always an option, but 12v appliances seem so simple. From which appliances should I steer clear?

-Shack
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 09-05-2006

pigslo is on a distinguished road
I had a 12 volt coffee maker that I threw in the dumpster after it took too long to brew a pot.
Old 09-05-2006
Best Looking MALE Mod

Cruisingdad is a jewel in the rough Cruisingdad is a jewel in the rough Cruisingdad is a jewel in the rough
My opinion:

You are probably better off dropping in a good inverter, like a Xantrex Prosine with a true sine wave. Sailnet has them for $7XX dollars, I think. Seems like a lot of money now, but a good sine wave is easier on most components, and it is easier to go throw the switch and just plug in whatever you want. Maybe it is even cheaper that way in the long run????? Others might be able to answer that better.

Most things on a boat run on 12V though. My only caution is that it is really easy to suck down a battery with a inverter if you are not careful. Watch your juice!

Take care.

CD
Old 09-05-2006
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice