SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Gear & Maintenance (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/gear-maintenance/)
-   -   Life Jacket, Life Vest, PFD....Recommendations (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/gear-maintenance/22705-life-jacket-life-vest-pfd-recommendations.html)

micetic 09-05-2006 11:54 PM

Life Jacket, Life Vest, PFD....Recommendations

I am still very new to sailing and have decided it is time to buy my own PFD and quit bumming them off others. I am a pretty big guy so I need something that has some room in the belt. I would also like something the self rights and would keep my face out of the water if I got knocked cold. Any and all suggestions as well as criticisms of PFDs would be welcome.

Thanks!
Matthew

MikeinLA 09-06-2006 12:02 AM

I am a fan of the inflatable PFDs. The best ones also incorporate rings for attaching a harness just in case. Make sure it's automatic, not manual.

Mike

sailingdog 09-06-2006 12:07 AM

Matt-

What PFD to get really depends on what kind of boat and what kind of sailing you'll be doing. An inflatable PFD isn't really recommended for dinghy sailors, like those who sail Lasers, as the boats are so wet, you'd be having to recharge the PFD rather regularly. Likewise, a Type III vest is not really that great an idea for a boat that is going bluewater.

It would also help if you defined big guy a bit better. Are you 7' and 140 lbs., or 5' and 300 lbs, or something in between.

For a PFD to be self righting, it usually needs to be either a Type I (best with most floatation of the foam types, but really uncomfortable), a Type II (a bit less flotation, not as likely to flip you over, and still pretty uncomfortable), or a Type V. Type V's are inflatables and must be worn to count in your USCG inspection as a PFD.