Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 09-07-2006

carlosthedog is on a distinguished road
Question traveler lines and hardware

Hi all;

I recently purchased a 1984 Ericson 30+. My wife insists that we add a California Dodger to it. I located a reputable canvas guy to build my dodger. One of the details he wants to know is if I want to run the traveler lines through the dodger. The present configuration would require zippers to allow me to first pull up on the lines to disengage the cam cleats. I want to avoid this and any zippers. Most of the other lines will run under the dodger and through a clutch. My present thought is to run each of the traveler lines through some sort of block system. Maybe just an eye on the traveler then use a stand up block bolted to the cabin top then through a clutch.

Since I'm new to sailing and all the hardware associated with sailboats, I'm not sure if this is the best approach. Leaving the system as is would mean unzipping and rezipping both lines each time I wanted to reset the car. Does anyone have any ideas and specifically what hardware to use?
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 09-07-2006
Just another Moderator

Faster has a spectacular aura about Faster has a spectacular aura about Faster has a spectacular aura about
Without actually seeing the layout it's difficult to suggest the best way to approach this. Certainly trying to rerun the control lines so that they cleanly run under the dodger along with the other halyards and mainsheet sounds like a plan.